You have printed or saved this page from www.heritagefoundation.ca,
the website for the Heritage Foundation of Newfoundland and Labrador.

Mallard Cottage - City of St. John's Heritage Site

Mallard Cottage, St. John's
Mallard Cottage, St. John's
Mallard Cottage, St. John's

Statement of Significance

Formal Recognition Type

City of St. John's Heritage Building, Structure, Land or Area

Description of Historic Place

Mallard Cottage is a picturesque one-and-a-half storey wood-frame house set on a small lot near the road in the village of Quidi Vidi, within the greater municipality of St. John’s Newfoundland. The designation is confined to the footprint of the building.

Heritage Value

Mallard Cottage was designated because, with its hipped roof and central chimney, it is typical of the vernacular housing built by immigrants from southeastern Ireland in the first half of the nineteenth century.

The heritage value of this site resides in the materials as well as the elements of vernacular design and craftsmanship deriving from Irish-Newfoundland vernacular building traditions. The Mallards, a family of Irish origin, lived in the house for over a hundred years.

Source: City of St. John's, meeting held 2006/04/25

Character Defining Elements

All those features reflective of its age and traditional vernacular design, including:
-rectangular massing under a low-hipped roof with rear linhay (lean-to);
-small scale;
-wood construction and beaded clapboard finish;
-five-bay facade with multi-pane, double-hung windows on ground level and smaller multi-pane windows above; and,
-interior plan of two rooms on the ground floor on either side of a massive central hearth and sleeping rooms above.

Notes of Interest

Mallard Cottage is among the oldest residential structures in Newfoundland. Patterned on the thatched-roofed cottages in Ireland, the dwelling is a one-and-a-half-storeyed building with a hipped roof and central chimney.

Location and History

Community St. John's
Municipality City of St. John's
Civic Address 002 Barrows Road, Quidi Vidi Village
Construction (circa) 1820 - 1840
Builder
Mallard Brothers
Style 19th Century Vernacular
Building Plan Square
Website Link http://www.heritage.nf.ca/society/rhs/rs_listing/119.html