St. Paul's Anglican Church Registered Heritage Structure
Statement of Significance
Formal Recognition Type
Registered Heritage Structure
Description of Historic Place
St. Paul’s Anglican Church is a timber framed church built between 1892 and 1894 in the Gothic Revival style of architecture. It is located in the community of Trinity, NL. The designation is confined to the footprint of the building.
St. Paul’s Anglican Church was designated a Registered Heritage Structure by the Heritage Foundation of Newfoundland and Labrador in 1987 due to its aesthetic and historic value.
St. Paul’s Anglican Church has aesthetic value as it is an excellent example of the Gothic Revival style. Unlike other Gothic Revival churches in rural Newfoundland, St. Paul’s Anglican Church is much more elaborate in its layout and decoration. While most rural Gothic churches are built in a simplified manner, St. Paul’s Anglican Church features a centre and side aisle layout and a large tower topped with a spire. Other Gothic features include arched windows and doors, a large rose window, finials and clerestory windows. The interior of St. Paul’s Anglican Church is also aesthetically valuable because it has never been painted. The interior woodwork is exposed and modern heating and lighting efforts have been concealed. The size and scale of this church is also valuable as an indicator of the size of the Anglican community in Trinity during this period. With a capacity of over 500, St. Paul’s Anglican Church stands as a testament to the importance of the church in Newfoundland during this period.
St. Paul’s Anglican Church has further aesthetic value for its association with American architect Stephen C. Earle. Plans for St. Paul's were prepared by Earle - a noted architect from Worchester, Massachusetts. It is believed that St. Paul's was built by either Caleb Marshall or James Harvey of St. John's. Construction began on March 20, 1892, and was completed on November 13, 1894, when Bishop Llewelyn Jones held the consecration service.
St. Paul’s Anglican Church has historic value due to its long history in the community of Trinity. St. Paul’s Anglican Church is the third Anglican Church in Trinity. The first church was built in 1730, the second in 1820 and the current church was built on the site of the first in 1892. Furthermore, St. Paul’s Anglican Church is historically valuable for its associations with a number of notable Anglican ministers who served in Trinity. The first regular rector at St. Paul’s Church was Reverend Robert Killpatrick who was sent to Newfoundland as a missionary by the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in 1729. Other notable ministers have included the first Anglican Bishop in Newfoundland, Bishop Aubrey Spencer who served in Trinity from 1820-1821.
Source: Heritage Foundation of Newfoundland and Labrador property file “Trinity- St. Paul’s Anglican Church – FPT 39”
Character Defining Elements
All elements that define the building's Gothic Revival design including:
-number of storeys;
-steep pitch gable roof;
-bell tower with spire and clock;
-narrow wood clapboard;
-mock Tudor exposed exterior beams;
-size, style, trim and placement of wooden windows;
-stained glass windows;
-size, style, trim and placement of exterior wooden doors;
-size, style, trim and placement of covered open porches;
-dimension, location and orientation of building;
-central aisle and side aisle interior layout, and;
Location and History
||Trinity, Trinity Bay
||Town of Trinity
||1892 - 1894
Stephen C. Earle
||Rectangular Short Façade